Committee begins work to find next ISU president

Illinois State University
Published: Oct. 31, 2023 at 8:59 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NORMAL (25News Now) - A 29-member committee has met for the first time to find Illinois State University’s next president.

The panel composed of various ISU stakeholders gathered early Tuesday to discuss the process with consulting firm Parker Executive Search, which is being paid $110,000, plus expenses.

The university is looking to replace Terry Goss Kinzy, who resigned last February after less than two years as president.

The search process that led to Kinzy’s hiring was done in secrecy. This will be a more open process, according to ISU Board of Trustees Chair Kathryn Bohn, who is also chairing the search committee.

The panel wants three-to-five finalists brought to campus this spring for public engagement sessions.

Interim ISU President Aondover Tarhule has not said publicly if he’s interested in the job long-term. He’s under contract to serve as interim president until June 30.

Besides Bohn, here are the other members of the presidential search committee:

  • Dr. Robert Navarro
  • Scott Jenkins
  • Julie Jones
  • Darren Tillis
  • Ash Ebikhumi
    Student Trustee
  • Danielle Beasley
    Associate Director Student Counseling, President’s Diversity and Inclusion Council
  • Angela Bonnell
    Associate Professor, Milner Library
  • Janice Bonneville
    Associate Vice President, Human Resources
  • Leanna Bordner
    Senior Deputy Athletics Director/Senior Woman Administrator
  • Dr. Vijay Devabhaktuni
    Department Chair, College of Engineering, Electrical Engineering
  • Dr. Heather Dillaway
    Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Taylor Flinn
    Graduate Student
  • Tim Griffin
    President, Illinois State University Alumni Board
  • Dr. Martha Horst
    Academic Senate Chairperson, Professor, Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts, School of Music
  • Dan Kelley
    Board Member, Illinois State University Foundation
  • Justin Lawson
    Civil Service Council, Housing Staff
  • Dr. Erin Mikulec
    Professor, College of Education, School of Teaching and Learning
  • Joe McDonald
    Instructional Assistant Professor, College of Business, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster
    Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Eduardo Monk, Jr.
    President, Student Government Association
  • Dr. Nancy Novotny
    Associate Professor, Mennonite College of Nursing
  • Dr. Derek O’Connell
    A/P Council, Academic Advisor
  • Dr. Bahae Samhan
    Professor, College of Business, Accounting
  • Dr. Klaus Schmidt
    Professor, College of Applied Science and Technology, Technology
  • Archana Shekara
    Professor, Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts, Wonsook Kim School of Art
  • Dr. Julie Webber
    Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, Politics and Government
  • Dr. Ani Yazedjian
    Acting Provost and Vice President, Academic Affairs
  • Jill Wilberg
    Assistant Vice President, University Advancement