Gov. Pritzker picks 2 new members for ISU’s governing board

Illinois Governor JB Pritzker at Illinois State University
Illinois Governor JB Pritzker at Illinois State University(25 News/Heart of Illinois ABC)
Published: Feb. 10, 2023 at 10:36 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NORMAL (25 News Now) - Gov. JB Pritzker is appointing two people to serve on Illinois State University’s Board of Trustees, replacing a pair of veteran board members’ whose terms expired last month.

Neither Scott Jenkins or Lia Merminga attended ISU, and a university spokesperson said that pending Senate confirmation, they will replace Bob Dobski and Mary Ann Louderback. She was most recently the board’s chair.

Jenkins is strategy director for state policy at Indianapolis-based Lumina Foundation, which aims to create educational opportunities beyond high school. Jenkins also served as education policy director for two Republican governors, John Engler of Michigan and Mitch Daniels of Indiana. Jenkins was also a deputy in the U.S. Department of Education in the George W. Bush administration, according to his biography posted on Lumina’s website.

Merminga is director for Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. in which she oversees physicists and scientists working on the world’s most advanced particle accelerators, the governor’s office said. Fermilab’s website said Merminga is considered an “internationally renowned accelerator physicist.”

The term of ISU Trustee Kathryn Bohn also expired next month. The Pritzker administration has not said how it will fill that vacancy.