UPDATE: 2 At-Large City Council members won’t be on the ballot next year for re-election

Peoria City Council
Peoria City Council(Gray)
Published: Nov. 28, 2022 at 2:39 PM CST|Updated: Nov. 28, 2022 at 3:10 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

PEORIA (25 News Now) - The Peoria County Election Commission reports 11 candidates filed nominating petitions before Monday’s deadline to get on next year’s election ballot for At-Large seats on the Peoria City Council, but two incumbents council members are not on that list.

Sid Ruckriegel has been at-large representative since his appointment in 2015. He ran unsuccessfully for mayor in 2021.

The other incumbent who did not file nominating petitions is Elizabeth Jensen, who has served on the city council since 2013.

25 News reached out to Ruckriegel and Jensen for comment.

Earlier on Monday, John Kelly announced he’s running for another term, joining other At-Large incumbents Kiran Velpula and Zachary Oyler who desire another year around the horseshoe.

In a news release, Kelly said he top achievement has been passage of real estate tax abatement on new residential construction in neighborhoods on our city’s Valley neighborhoods.

Kelly said his top goal is to make Peoria’s economic climate more welcoming to investment, which would lead to more high-wage employment and create relief from Peoria’s super-high property taxes.

Here are the other candidates who have filed for one of five At-Large seats for before Friday’s filing deadline

-Mike Vespa

-Bernice Gordon-Young

-Shawn Allen

-Benjamin R. Nicks Jr.

-Demario Boone

-Lawrence Maushard

-Anu Uddavolu

-Clara Underwood-Forman